HOME  I   HISTORY I   LOEWE HALL  I   REFERENCES  I   GALLERY  I   BLUEPRINTS  I   CONTACT & IMPRINT




History




Ludwig Loewe Engine factory
Mitte - Tiergarten, Wiebestraße 42-45

At the end of the 19th century, the brothers Ludwig and Isidor Loewe, who already ran several factories in Berlin at the time, opened their most important factory location in Moabit. This included the Loewe GmbH (engine factory), which was build in 1896, as well as the Ludwig Loewe & CO. (mill and drill press factory), which had been finished in 1917 by Alfred Grenander. Subsequently, different pavilion-like production and administration buildings were brick-built and surrounded by green belts on the property. The entire industrial plant is considered to be a prototype of modern factory architecture. The mechanical engineering hall, constructed in 1897/98 by Arnold Vogt, was a three-part brick building with wide glazed facades. In 1905, it was extended towards the north. The southern front wall was destroyed in World War II but rebuilt after the war. Later it was used as a storage hall and as a training place of the christian "youth village work". In 1994, the building was torn down. Since then, a plaque is supposed to remind people of the historical relevance of this place by displaying the text: "The machine hall was a last witness of a former exemplary company. It had the status of an architectural monument and was torn down in 1994 in favour of this new building".



Loewe, Ludwig
* 27.11.1837 Heiligenstadt/Eichsfeld, † 11.09.1886 Berlin ,Industrialist

He founded a Woolware business in 1858 in Berlin. In 1869, he created the Ludwig Loewe & CO. Corporation at Luisenstaedter Hollmannstrasse 32 for the production of sewing machines. The foundation of this company resulted in the establishment of a factory for mechanical tools, which in 1898 moved into the Huttenstrasse 17-20 (Ludwig Loewe engine factory). Moreover, the German Weapon- and Ammunition Factory AG was set up in Augusta Street 14-24. L was member of the Berliner Stadtverordnetenversammlung and since 1877 member of the Prussian parliament. Also, he became a member of the German parliament (Deutscher Reichstag) in 1878. He was buried at the cemetery of the Jewish community in Berlin-Prenzlauer Berg.



Grenander, Alfred Frederik Elias
* 26.06.1863 Sköfde (Schweden), † 14.07.1931 Berlin, Architect

G. studied architecture in Stockholm and Berlin from 1885 to 1888. Subsequently, he worked for Alfred Messel and since 1890 in Paul Wallot´s (1841-1912) Reichstagsbauatelier, contributing to the construction of the German Reichstag parliament building. From 1896 to 1903, he led the company Spalding & Grenander with his brother-in-law Otto Spalding (1863-1945). Furthermore, he was a professor at the united state schools for free and applied art in Berlin-Charlottenburg. From 1897 to 1931, he lectured at the teaching institute of the museum of arts and crafts (Martin Gropius building) in Berlin-Kreuzberg. G. was particularly involved in Berlin´s urban railway construction company from 1900 to 1931, for which he planned numerous U- and S-Bahn stations, including stations, such as Alexanderplatz, Bernauer Straße, Französische Straße, Friedrichstraße, Gesundbrunnen, Hausvogteiplatz, Heinrich-Heine- Straße, Jannowitzbrücke, Klosterstraße, Kurfürstenstraße, Märkisches Museum, Mohrenstraße, Potsdamer Platz, Reinickendorfer Straße, Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, Rosenthaler Platz, Seestraße, Schillingstraße, Schwartzkopffstraße, Spittelmarkt, Stadtmitte, Voltastraße, Weinmeisterstraße and Zinnowitzer Straße. In 1910/11, G. arranged the Gotzkowsky Bridge to be remade. He also worked on the construction of the Komische Oper, the Kaisergalerie, the BVG admistration building as well as the Ludwig Loewe engine factory in Berlin-Mitte. A plaque in the underground station Klosterstraße reminds people of G.´s achievements for Berlin´s architecture.

















Management: Milada Bormann

Project Management: Sandra Strauch





Ludwig Loewe Höfe

Wiebestraße 42-45, 10553 Berlin

Tel.: +49 (0) 30 - 345 095 87

E-Mail: info@loewesaal.de

Copyright © 2014 Loewe Saal - Alle Rechte reserviert

Website Design: Karoo Mediengestaltung

HOME  I   GESCHICHTE I   LOEWE SAAL  I   REFERENZEN  I   GALERIE  I   PLÄNE  I   KONTAKT & IMPRESSUM




Geschichte




Ludwig Loewe Maschinenfabrik
Mitte - Tiergarten, Wiebestraße 42-45

Die von Ludwig Loewe und lsidor Loewe an verschiedenen Standorten in Berlin begründeten Fabriken erhielten gegen Ende des Jahrhunderts ihren wichtigsten Standort in Moabit. Dazu gehörten die Loewe GmbH (Maschin-enfabrik), die 1896 entstand, sowie die Ludwig Loewe & Co. (Fräs- und Bohrmaschinenfabrik), die 1917 von Alfred Grenander fertig gestellt worden war. In der Folgezeit entstanden auf beiden Geländen verschiedene pavillon-artige Produktions- und Verwaltungsbauten aus Backstein sowie Grünanlagen. Die gesamte Anlage gilt als Vorläufer heutiger Industriearchitektur. Die 1897 /98 von Arnold Vogt errichtete Maschinenbauhalle in der Wiebestraße war ein dreischiffiger Bau aus Backstein mit großflächiger Verglasung. 1905 wurde sie nach Norden hin verlängert. Die südliche Stirnwand der Halle wurde im 2ten Weltkrieg zerstört und danach neu aufgebaut. Später nutzte man das Gebäude als Lagerhalle und Lehrwerkstatt des christlichen jugenddorfwerkes. 1994 erfolgte der Abriss. An sie erinnert eine Tafel mit dem Text: "Die Maschinenhalle war letzter Zeuge des einstigen Musterbetriebes. Sie hatte den Rang eines Baudenkmals und ist 1994 zugunsten des nun fertig ge-stellten Neubaus abgetragen worden."



Loewe, Ludwig
* 27.11.1837 Heiligenstadt/Eichsfeld, † 11.09.1886 Berlin, Industrieller

Er eröffnete 1858 in Berlin ein Wollwarenkommissions-Geschäft. 1869 gründete er in der Luisenstädter Hollmannstraße 32 die Ludwig Loewe & Co. Kommanditgesellschaft auf Aktien zur Fabrikation von Nähmaschinen, aus der die Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik, die 1898 in die Huttenstraße 17-20 ( Ludwig Loewe Maschinenfabrik) zog, und 1896 die Deutsche Waffen- ­und Munitions-fabrik AG, Kaiserin-Augusta-Allee 14-24, hervorgingen. L. gehörte der Berliner Stadtverordnetenversammlung an und war seit 1877 Mitglied des Preußischen Abgeordnetenhauses und seit 1878 Mitglied des Deutschen Reichstages. Bei-gesetzt wurde er auf dem Friedhof der Jüdischen Gemeinde zu Berlin (Prenzlauer Berg).



Grenander, Alfred Frederik Elias
* 26.06.1863 Sköfde (Schweden), † 14.07.1931 Berlin, Architekt

G. studierte Architektur in Stockholm und an der TH Charlottenburg von 1885 bis 1888. Im Anschluss daran arbeitete er bei Alfred Messel und seit 1890 in Paul Wallots (1841-1912) Reichstagsbauatelier. Ab 1896 selbständig, führte er bis 1903 mit seinem Schwager Otto Spalding (1863-1945) die Firma Spalding & Grenander. Daneben lehrte er ab 1901 als Professor an den Vereinigten Staatsschulen für freie und angewandte Kunst (Charlottenburg) und von 1897 bis 1931 auch an der Unterrichtsanstalt des Kunstgewerbe-museums (Martin-Gropius-Bau, Kreuzberg). G. war von 1900 bis 1931 vor allem für die Berliner Hoch- und Untergrundbahn-Gesellschaft tätig, für die er zahlreiche Bahnhöfe und andere Bauten für die Hoch- und die U-Bahn er-richtete, so die U-Bahnhöfe Alexanderplatz, Bernauer Straße, Französische Straße, Friedrichstraße, Gesundbrunnen, Hausvogteiplatz, Heinrich-Heine- Straße, Jannowitzbrücke, Klosterstraße, Kurfürstenstraße, Märkisches Museum, Mohrenstraße, Potsdamer Platz, Reinickendorfer Straße, Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, Rosenthaler Platz, Seestraße, Schillingstraße, Schwartz-kopfstraße, Spittelmarkt, Stadtmitte, Voltastraße, Weinmeisterstraße und Zinnowitzer Straße, das U-Bahn-Umformerwerk Bastianstraße sowie die Hochbahnbrücke in der Dennewitzstraße (1930). Zudem gestaltete G. 1928 die Komische Oper und 1930/31 die Kaisergalerie um, erneuerte 1910/11 die Gotzkowskybrücke und stellte 1917 die Fräs- und Bohrmaschinenfabrik der Ludwig Loewe Maschinenfabrik fertig. 1929/30 baute er das heute von der BVG genutzte Verwaltungsgebäude Dircksenstraße/Bülowstraße (heute Rosa-Luxemburg-Straße Nr. 2-4). Auf einer Gedenktafel im U-Bahnhof Klosterstraße wird auch an G. erinnert.

















Geschäftsführung: Milada Bormann

Projektleitung: Sandra Strauch





Ludwig Loewe Höfe

Wiebestraße 42-45, 10553 Berlin

Tel.: +49 (0) 30 - 345 095 87

E-Mail: info@loewesaal.de

Copyright © 2014 Loewe Saal - Alle Rechte reserviert

Website Design: Karoo Mediengestaltung